Privacy screen

Other things that involve bamboo

Moderator: needmore

Rtrw
Location info: 0

Privacy screen

Post by Rtrw »

Hello all! I am fairly new to gardening in general and definitely new to bamboo. I am in Scripps ranch which is a suburb of san Diego CA. Our zone is 10a to 10b depending who you ask.

I am looking for a tropical looking plant to use as a privacy screen. It would be full sun and I would like a minimum height of 15'. Ideally 15-25' but taller is ok. I need to screen about 75-80' along the back of my property against a wrought iron fence.

A local nursery recommend golden bamboo...Phyllostachys aurea I believe. I understand this to be of the clumping variety. The salesman said not to worry about it becoming invasive, and that it was relatively easy to manage.

I guess my questions are regarding this invasive aspect of the plant. Do I need to be concerned with it coming up 10-15' from the mother plant? Will it be destructive to the iron fence behind it? How far need it be from concrete hard scape and my pool? How bad is the maintenance? I do enjoy yard work so some work would be ok.

Please any info or advice is appreciated...the internet is full of some pretty wild stories and I would love to get some info from someone with experience with this plant.

Also...if the golden bamboo is not a good choice for my situation please feel free to recommend any tropical looking plant that would make a good (affordable) alternative.
needmore
Bamboo Society Membership: ABS - America

Re: Privacy screen

Post by needmore »