Michigan bamboo mistake? phyllostachys parvifolia

Other things that involve bamboo

Moderator: needmore

twandawg85
Location info: 0

Michigan bamboo mistake? phyllostachys parvifolia

Post by twandawg85 »

SO to start out I am new to growing plants in general. Just started my first garden this year. Doing some landscaping around my 2.5 acre property with one rule... Everything I bring in has to be edible. I have some not edible trees that I am moving around the property, but everything I bring in new has to be edible.

I have been moving from behind the barn to the front of the yard by the road. Trying to make it feel more like I am in the woods, make a bit of a barrier to the road, and give a bit of a windbreak. (I am in the middle of Michigan surrounded by farmland. So when they grow corn it isnt too bad, but anything else and it feels like a house in the middle of a field.)

I usually do my research REALLY well before I do anything. Well I didn't do that this time. On a whim I looked up if bamboo could grow in Michigan. Thought it would do a good job at all the stuff I was moving the trees for, and it would spread naturally I wouldnt have to move a ton of trees. Found some would. Found the largest kind that said it would grow in my zone, and placed an order. Not a very large order, but I quickly found its not cheap to buy bamboo plants.

So now I have 2-2 gallon phyllostachys parvifolia ordered.

Did I make a mistake? I am finding very conflicting information on where this stuff will grow. I have seen as low as zone 5(which I am 5b or 6 depending on whether you look at USDA or Arbor day maps). But I am also finding places that say it will only grow down to zone 7. Will this stuff grow in zone 5?

If so does anyone have any idea how tall it will get in this zone? From my understanding this stuff if fairly new to the US. I am guessing thats why I can't find much information on it.