Bambusa Bambos

Other things that involve bamboo

Moderator: needmore

Eastlandia
Location info: 0

Bambusa Bambos

Post by Eastlandia »

I have several seeds up of this species and am wondering how many years it will take before I can see substantial size. Some books like Victor Cusack's Bamboo World show pictures of "second year growth" which show 1 inch culms bursting out of a small fluffy 1 foot previous growth. This obviously cannot be true if the previous growth came from seeds. Ive seen Fargasia seeds grow larger over several years but are the tropical species different? I'm new to the tropics...and am just wondering ... -eastlandia
Brian T. Lawrence
Southern Indiana (2002-2011)
Fort Myers Florida (2012-2013)
Tanzania (2014)
BooKing

RE: Bambusa Bambos

Post by BooKing »

It can happen with Bambusa lako and Dendrocalamus Betung-Hitam. At first it is quite the shock :shock: but a pleasant one. These size up FAST. :D I grew a dozen seedlings of these and they have filled up nicely and are in 20gal and up pots now. :D
serenityinbamboo

Post by serenityinbamboo »

I agree with Booking! Here is a picture of my 10 month old lako & (2)10 month old betungs and my lako respectively. :wink:

magsc21
Zone 9a

Post by magsc21 »

They will grow fast! I saw some baby bambos at the Texas Bamboo Festival this weekend. They were about 2 feet high in 1 gallon pots and the vendor told me that next year's shoots should be at least 10ft high. They were already very thorny as well. I really want one, but I think I'll injure myself trying to grow it...

As for other tropical growth, I don't know if you've seen this simulator, but it seems reasonably accurate (given ideal growing conditions). http://www.mrbamboo.com.au/bamboo_growt ... pment.html

I've had several bamboos that went from culms about 1/2" in diameter to about 1.5" in one season. It's really fun to watch.
Things size up fast in the tropics!
BooKing

Post by BooKing »