Help pick out my first bamboo for backyard w/ pic v. Bambusa

Ask questions about growing bamboo

Moderator: needmore

Which species would look best along my fence?

Textilis 'Dwarf' all the way across and prune height when/if it gets too tall on the right side of the yard
25%
Bambusa 'Richard Waldron' all the way across - no need to prune height but will take a few yrs to get to ideal height
No votes
Textilis 'Dwarf' on the right and Textilis 'Gracilis' on the left
50%
Bambusa 'Richard Waldron' on the right and Textilis 'Dwarf' on the left
No votes
None of the above
25%

Total votes: 4

senormatt
Location info: 0

Help pick out my first bamboo for backyard w/ pic v. Bambusa

Post by senormatt »

I appreciate the help and am excited to join the community. I'm a newbie and am excited like I'm sure all of you were when getting your first plant.

Here's the space in question. They'll be planted against the fence to double as a privacy screen.

I'm going to transplant the two outer plants in the pic elsewhere and the two in the middle will stay. I'd like to plant two (or more) bamboo on each side against the fence. On the right side I need to stay below the red line so I don't block my neighbors windows/sunlight. On the left side I can go as high as I'd like, but I'm worried it might look funny or out of sync to have different heights along the fence.

For the right side I'm looking at Bambusa 'Richard Waldron' or Textilis 'Dwarf'. I'm concerned the Dwarf may get too tall down the road - should I stay with the 'Richard Waldron'?

For the left side I'm not sure if I should plant the same thing I plant on the right side for a nice unified look, or go with Textilis 'Gracilis'.

I have a few options and would greatly appreciate your input on which you recommend.
marcat
Location info: 28

Re: Help pick out my first bamboo for backyard w/ pic v. Bam

Post by marcat »