Zone 6 bamboo

Ask questions about growing bamboo

Moderator: needmore

Cichlidius
Location info: 0

Zone 6 bamboo

Post by Cichlidius »

Hello, I'm fairly new to bamboo, right now I just have a small grove of incense bamboo that is slowly taking off. I'm looking for the tallest bamboo with the thickest culms that I can reliably grow here in outside of Cleveland ohio. The patch I would like to cover is in full sun, something to simply block out my one visible neighbor. I have heard rubromarginata is a good choice but would like some other ideas. Thanks for any help.
oobmab

Re: Zone 6 bamboo

Post by oobmab »

Do you want thick culms for the look, or for screening effect?
stevelau1911
Location info: 42

Post by stevelau1911 »

After the harsh winter, it seems like phyllostachys parvifolia has definitely come out as the winner in terms of maintaining size even though it was about 95% leaf burned after 13 nights of sub zero temperatures which could be a record. Anyways, parvifolia seems to have the ability to gain size on normal winters, and maintain its size on the coldest winters for zone 6.
Cichlidius

Post by Cichlidius »

Thanks for the suggestion. How tall and thick does Parvifolia get when mature? The area I would eventually like to cover is a little over an acre so even if the bamboo does not get very bushy it should still be a large enough area that it will block out the view I hope. I mainly want the size for how it looks.
Cichlidius

Post by Cichlidius »

Also, is parvifolia a running or clumping bamboo, I looked it up and I see it referenced as both.
richr

Post by richr »