When do you trim old culms?

Ask questions about growing bamboo

Moderator: needmore

da7id
Location info: 0

When do you trim old culms?

Post by da7id »

Hi, I’m a bit of a newbie here. I’ve got a bunch of different types of bunching bamboo growing in Austin, TX -Bambusa, Dendocalamus & Gigantochloa. I’m wondering when is the best time to chop old culms. The clumps are all about 1.5 years since planted and all starting to upsize this year. Last years culms are thin, tall and lean at awkward angles with the weight of the leaves taking up all my side yard space. So, I’m thinking the older culms are still providing lots of energy through the leaves but are also a drain or water available to the new shoots. Also, when it’s windy, the old thin culms can whip around damaging the new shoots.

So should I trim the thin culms (as much as 50% of the leaf mass)

1. In early spring before the big shoots start
2. Later spring/ early summer when the big shoots are growing
3. Late summer / fall after this years shoots are up but before they leaf out or
4. Winter / early spring after the big new shoots have leafed out?

This question primarily applies to sunburst, emeiensis (both) and dendrocalamus minor but to a smaller extent to the Asian lemon, barbellata and gracillis as they shoot year round. The gigantochloa loses the top half of its culms every winter so it keeps everything green so it can keep upsizing.

Any suggestions would be great - Thanks!
Attachments
7C9BC172-DAF7-4034-AA3F-2B28202A51EE.jpeg
dependable

Re: When do you trim old culms?

Post by dependable »

If you are trying to grow the planting, don't trim them at al until they start to loose color or past prime.

If you are trying to maintain at around present size, I'd go for pruning later in summer, or perhaps fall or winter.
needmore
Bamboo Society Membership: ABS - America

Re: When do you trim old culms?

Post by needmore »