Advice on dividing this B. chungii, please?

Ask questions about growing bamboo

Moderator: needmore

Saklo
Location info: 0

Advice on dividing this B. chungii, please?

Post by Saklo »

Greetings! Yesterday evening (a Friday) I was driving down a residential street in my S. Florida town and came across a landscape crew hauling a load of standard B. chungii culms over a backyard fence, and stopped to get the story. Seems this healthy, 15-year-old clump will be removed in its entirety due to a utilities conflict. The crew had started late and they were leaving the site with half the culms standing and the other half cut down to about 8'. They return Monday to resume removal, roots and all.

I saw the possibility of collecting a few propagules of underground material and got the OK from the foreman and property owner to be on hand Monday and collect what I can of it. Then I came home and started researching, as I'm an absolute beginner at this. Besides delving into the archives of this forum, I've been reading through the 1995 INBAR propagation manual and Kenneth Brennecke's 1980 papers on division for the ABS, among other things. But on the chance that this post is published and read within the next 48 hours or so, perhaps some forum members can offer some experience-based advice on collecting viable propagules from this particular variety. I have that much time to come up with a plan and get prepared. I understand that it's a bit past the optimum season to try this, but hey, it's free chungii, so why not give it a shot?